29 Weeks

29

In very exciting news, baby girl finally has a name!  I hadn’t shared on the blog yet because the news was still slowly traveling to family and friends, but I believe the cat is officially out of the bag.  The official name is Molly June Mulligan!  Molly was on a list of contenders from the beginning, but when at the beach with a couple of friends over Memorial Day weekend that somehow became her official nickname.  The four of us referred to her as “Molly” all weekend, and then Mike and I continued to call her that joking around at home.  We debated dozens of other names, but nothing else felt right.  We finally decided that Molly already felt like her name – especially since we had been calling her that for over a month!  So, it was decided.  As far the middle name, I always knew that I wanted June to be the middle name if I had a girl.  That was my Grandma’s name – my dad’s mom – and my sister was named after her as well (Kathryn June).  My Grandma June was one of a kind.  She spoiled me and my sister rotten, and we absolutely adored her.  I have the best memories of time spent with her when I was young – sleepovers at her house when we would stay up late watching tv in her bed, eating her homemade fried chicken, countless trips to the mall and excursions to Toys R Us, watching Grease (and other movies I wasn’t allowed to watch at home) with her in the living room floor.  I miss her all the time, but I’m glad that her name will live on in our daughter.

This was the most amazing week I can remember in a long time.  Friday I drove over to Mike’s office where his coworkers threw a surprise shower for us – well, a surprise for Mike!  He was so shocked, and the look on his face when he walked into the conference room for a “meeting” was priceless.  His coworkers were all so sweet, and I was so touched by everything they did for us!  It was a perfect party, and I can’t believe everyone pulled off the surprise – including me!  Saturday some of my best friends threw the most beautiful and perfect shower for me and Baby Molly.  There was so much thought and detail put into every little thing, and I adored it all.  I have the best friends ever, and they went above and beyond to make this day perfect.  I couldn’t be more thankful for them and for our families – some of whom traveled across the country to be here for the occasion!  It was such a special weekend, and I am still in awe at the outpouring of love our friends and families have shown for us and for Molly!  We could not feel more loved! 

How far along: 29 weeks and the size of a butternut squash – about 16 inches long and 2.5 pounds.

Gender: Girl

Maternity clothes: Oh yeah.

Belly button in or out: Still questionable, but it should be popping out any day now.

Sleep: Not so great.  I was blessed with one amazing night’s rest Friday night, though.  I slept through the night and didn’t wake up until 9 am!  I can’t remember the last time I slept that late or that long without waking up.  It was amazing and much needed.   

Best moment this week: So many I don’t even know where to begin!  It would definitely have to be a tossup between Mike’s surprise work shower that his sweet coworkers through us on Friday, the shower that my wonderful friends through me on Saturday, and spending time with our families who were here for the weekend and we rarely see.  It was such a perfect weekend filled with so much love and happiness celebrating Molly!

Miss anything: Sleep!  I’m sure all of you mothers out there are cracking up at this knowing how much worse it’s about to get once the baby is actually here, right?!  🙂 

Movement:  I’m a little afraid about how feisty and wild this little girl might be judging by how active she already is.  Even the doctor commented on it at my appointment this week – granted, I had just chugged that nasty sugary beverage for my glucose test, but still!  She was trying to listen to the heartbeat, and Molly kicked so hard that the doctor’s hand jumped up from my belly.  We both laughed, and I confirmed that that was pretty much par for the course.  Last night was no exception.  I was SO exhausted after our long amazing weekend, and she decided to keep me up for another good hour with her intense kicks.  I kept reminding her it was bedtime, but she wasn’t having it.  Hope I don’t have a night owl on my hands!

Cravings: Ice cream, chocolate and fruit.  My friend Katie made some oreo truffles for my shower, and they were to die for!  Luckily, I was able to bring some home – no comment on how many I’ve already had.

Looking forward to: Touring the hospital soon and signing up for a couple of classes that will hopefully make us feel a little more prepared for what’s ahead!

It was so nice to have my sister here this weekend to celebrate her niece!  She is just a little bit excited about becoming a first-time aunt.. haha!   

29 + kat

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment

Baby Mulligan

Welcome to my blog! I plan to share my pregnancy journey - the good, bad and ugly - and I hope that you enjoy following along and sharing in this amazing experience with us! xo

Daily Garnish

Welcome to my blog! I plan to share my pregnancy journey - the good, bad and ugly - and I hope that you enjoy following along and sharing in this amazing experience with us! xo

hayes everyday

family, photography, travels, and everyday life with a toddler

Natty Michelle

Welcome to my blog! I plan to share my pregnancy journey - the good, bad and ugly - and I hope that you enjoy following along and sharing in this amazing experience with us! xo

KathrynBowenPhotographyBlog

Just another WordPress.com site

John Hemmingson Center

Welcome to my blog! I plan to share my pregnancy journey - the good, bad and ugly - and I hope that you enjoy following along and sharing in this amazing experience with us! xo

Young House Love

Home Decorating & DIY Tutorials